Brittni Brown – CosmoBC.com http://cosmobc.com Your Universal News and Offbeat Portal Wed, 15 May 2019 15:55:57 +0000 en-US hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=4.9.8 Virtual Reality for Your Health http://healthblog.cosmobc.com/2016/02/22/virtual-reality-health/ Mon, 22 Feb 2016 23:42:15 +0000 http://19.179 Oculus Rift Virtual RealityIn the world of video games, virtual reality is already becoming a huge deal. However, the use of virtual reality devices is not limited to gaming. In fact, a number of industries are finding spectacular uses for the technology. One such example is the healthcare industry. Continue reading ]]> Healthcare Students – Data Management Is Important http://healthblog.cosmobc.com/2016/01/07/healthcare-students-data-management-important/ Thu, 07 Jan 2016 23:42:17 +0000 http://19.87 Medical Student LaptopPreparations for medical school are no joke. In order to simply prepare (and be a competitive candidate) you need a strong academic background in biology and chemistry as well as supplementary courses such as psychology, physics, environmental health, etc. Performing … Continue reading ]]> Maintaining Health in a Polluted Environment http://healthblog.cosmobc.com/2015/11/13/maintaining-health-polluted-environment/ Sat, 14 Nov 2015 02:09:05 +0000 http://19.49 Running ExerciseTaking precautions to preserve our health can be a real challenge even on the best of days. High levels of pollutants in the ambient environments can make maintaining a healthy body distinctively more difficult - especially, if like many people you live, work, and exercise in a large city space. Continue reading ]]> Health Literacy Goes Hand in Hand With Financial Literacy http://healthblog.cosmobc.com/2015/10/09/health-literacy-hand-hand-financial-literacy/ Sat, 10 Oct 2015 01:31:20 +0000 http://19.28 Healthcare ExpensesFinding the time to develop a thorough understanding of our personal finances and gaining a financial literacy is something we all strive for. Having it can provide us with a lifetime of cost savings and financial benefits. Although we take … Continue reading ]]> Another Great Reason to Give Up Soda http://oddnews.cosmobc.com/2015/09/08/great-reason-give-soda/ Wed, 09 Sep 2015 00:25:37 +0000 http://16.956 Soda CansIn caring for our health, we always try to make the best decisions for our bodies. For many, this involves making the choice to cut out some of the least healthy food and drink options including those that are high … Continue reading ]]> Protecting the Life of Our Waters http://cuteanimals.cosmobc.com/2015/08/14/protecting-life-waters/ Fri, 14 Aug 2015 21:15:24 +0000 http://15.737 Marine Animals Fish Coral ReefsScientists have long been predicting the dangerous impacts of a changing climate on our marine ecosystems. The world's oceans are in trouble, but with the help of mapping software we are learning about problem areas and actively taking steps to address issues. Continue reading ]]> Addressing Wage Gaps Between Genders http://bizblog.cosmobc.com/2015/07/23/addressing-wage-gaps-genders/ Thu, 23 Jul 2015 21:42:47 +0000 http://9.1769 Business PeopleAlthough there have been many advances in women's equality in the workplace, we are still significantly lacking when it comes to paying women fairly. In 2015, Equal Pay Day - the day in 2015 women had to work until to make the same amount as men did in 1 year - was April 14th. Continue reading ]]> Becoming Disaster Prepared Using GIS http://bizblog.cosmobc.com/2015/06/02/disaster-prepared-gis/ Wed, 03 Jun 2015 02:22:40 +0000 http://9.1728 Action PlanDid you know that 25 percent of businesses do not reopen after a major natural disaster? Developing a disaster management plan can be the difference between closure and success after such an event. Continue reading ]]> 5 Reasons Libraries Aren’t Dead Yet http://oddnews.cosmobc.com/2015/04/16/5-reasons-libraries-dead/ Thu, 16 Apr 2015 21:22:23 +0000 http://16.913 Library photo by Timetrax23. License: CC BY-SA 2.0.With the development of modern technology and nearly everyone using search engines such as Google to find information, it is surprising to walk down the street and find that the local library still remains open to the public for use. … Continue reading ]]> How Big of a Threat Is Cyber Crime? http://techblog.cosmobc.com/2015/03/26/big-threat-cyber-crime/ Fri, 27 Mar 2015 00:02:49 +0000 http://8.3903 SecurityWhen the two words 'crime' and 'technology' are brought up in conversation cybercrime is usually not the thing that comes first to the minds of most people. Rather, many tend to think of crime-solving technology such as DNA analysis and fingerprinting used in solving cases on popular TV murder mysteries and dramas. Continue reading ]]> 5 Diseases Spread by Bats http://oddnews.cosmobc.com/2015/02/25/5-diseases-spread-bats/ Thu, 26 Feb 2015 00:33:22 +0000 http://16.897 Bats - Flying DogsBats are very extraordinary creatures. They are the only known flying mammal and one of only a few creatures on the planet to successfully use echolocation to hunt for their food. Bats are also hugely beneficial to humans in that … Continue reading ]]>