Adrienne Erin – CosmoBC.com http://cosmobc.com Your Universal News and Offbeat Portal Wed, 15 May 2019 15:55:57 +0000 en-US hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=4.9.8 Are You Misinformed About the Zika Virus? http://healthblog.cosmobc.com/2016/04/14/misinformed-zika-virus/ Fri, 15 Apr 2016 01:50:06 +0000 http://19.253 Asian Tiger MosquitoMosquitoes are a common nuisance throughout the summer in many states across America, prompting widespread concern whenever there’s news of a virus spread by mosquitoes. The Zika virus is one such virus. Spread by the Aedes genus of mosquitoes, specifically … Continue reading ]]> The VA Benefits Backlog in Numbers http://healthblog.cosmobc.com/2016/02/20/va-benefits-backlog-numbers/ Sun, 21 Feb 2016 01:15:56 +0000 http://19.170 Doctor Wait LineThe Department of Veterans Affairs had set a goal to get through their claims backlog by the end of 2015, but they missed the deadline by about 70,000 cases. But should that number actually be even higher? Continue reading ]]> Innovative Therapies for Parkinson’s Disease http://healthblog.cosmobc.com/2016/02/01/innovative-therapies-parkinsons-disease/ Tue, 02 Feb 2016 00:25:14 +0000 http://19.136 Hydrotherapy photo by OakleyOriginals. License: CC BY 2.0.Parkinson's is a chronic disease that gets worse as time goes on, impacting the way people move and their balance. It plagues about one million Americans. New and innovative treatment options are coming to light that can make it easier to handle the disease. Continue reading ]]> 5 Modular Solutions for the City of the Future http://techblog.cosmobc.com/2015/12/17/5-modular-solutions-city-future/ Fri, 18 Dec 2015 00:56:23 +0000 http://8.5622 Montreal Habitat67 photo by Wladyslaw Sojka. License: CC BY-SA 3.0.As the population in cities grows, they are forced to expand continuously to accommodate that growth. The problem with this is that most cities expand outward, taking up more land. While this is one solution, it’s not exactly what you … Continue reading ]]> The Challenges Post-Ebola Crisis in Sierra Leone http://healthblog.cosmobc.com/2015/12/10/challenges-post-ebola-crisis-sierra-leone/ Fri, 11 Dec 2015 03:17:00 +0000 http://19.70 Ebola ContainmentEbola took the world by storm less than a year ago. The news media was engaged in a constant Ebola news cycle, and this led to fear among different populations worldwide. Ebola is a virus that leads to symptoms such … Continue reading ]]> The 6 Weirdest Things Ever Found on a Construction Site http://oddnews.cosmobc.com/2015/11/25/6-weirdest-construction-site/ Thu, 26 Nov 2015 00:17:44 +0000 http://16.1089 Construction TruckConstruction happens all over the world on a daily basis, so it’s simply a matter of odds that we’ll uncover some unexpected — and sometimes downright bizarre — findings along the way. Here are six of the strangest examples I could … Continue reading ]]> 5 Reasons You Need to Embrace the Self-Driving Car http://techblog.cosmobc.com/2015/10/09/5-reasons-embrace-self-driving-car/ Fri, 09 Oct 2015 22:02:22 +0000 http://8.4772 Google Car photo by smoothgroover22. License: CC BY-SA 2.0.The future is here. Last week, Google debuted its self-driving car in front of a host of journalists. Citing the fact that 33 thousand folks are killed on U.S. roads each year, Google expressed its optimism for a future where the … Continue reading ]]> New Video Game Could Be the Cure to Tuberculosis http://healthblog.cosmobc.com/2015/10/01/video-game-cure-tuberculosis/ Fri, 02 Oct 2015 00:37:48 +0000 http://19.20 DoctorScottish undergraduate students from Abertay University and scientists from the University of St. Andrews have teamed up to develop a video game that could put the cure to tuberculosis at your fingertips. Their recently developed game, Project Sanitarium, invites its … Continue reading ]]> Designing a Safer, More Efficient Operating Room http://techblog.cosmobc.com/2015/09/25/designing-safer-efficient-operating-room/ Sat, 26 Sep 2015 00:38:12 +0000 http://8.4700 SurgeryThe operating room of a health care facility is a place where miracles happen every day. Cancer is eradicated, life-saving organ transplants are performed and joint replacements that restore the activities of daily life are completed. Yet, sometimes operating rooms … Continue reading ]]>